New Jersey

Thanks to Grampa and Aunt Barb’s gifts, I created some trail magic in Delaware Water Gap. I treated one thru-hiker to some pizza and two others to milkshakes. Of course I ate lots of pizza and milkshake myself.

My first day in New Jersey started by walking along a highway for a while until I crossed the Delaware River. Then I climbed uphill with my 39 pound (!) pack; after my resupply in Wind Gap, my bag was nearly 10 pounds heavier than when I left Springer!

I came to Sunfish Pond, where there were cool rock stacks at the spot I stopped for a snack. I watched a snake swim around a few feet away from me but I accidentally scared it away when I tried to get a video of it eating a frog. (It wasn’t actually eating the frog yet, but it looked ready to attack.)

20120602-084745.jpg

Later in the day I came to another pond that was overflowing from the heavy rain the day before.

I had a wet night in my tent that night as more rain came in. Some of the guys I camped with were practicing skills they’d learned at “tracking school” where they learned how to survive in the wild from the author of “The Tracker.” (http://www.trackerschool.com/)

The next day was Memorial Day, so people were out in hordes. In addition to all the day hikers, I saw a turkey from this fire tower.

20120602-085234.jpg

I also saw this deer as I was finishing my day and walking into the shelter.

I met a very interesting and funny couple there named La-Z and Detour. They had just finished taking their sponge baths outside the shelter when I arrived, so I thought my timing was perfect. They were celebrating their anniversary on the trail and were clearly the most perfect match for each other.

The next morning I entered High Point State Park and received a free Pepsi at the park headquarters from the Friends of High Point State Park. Thank you Friends of HPSP!

20120611-154114.jpg

After my pitstop at the headquarters, I
summited the highest point in New Jersey.

I stopped for water at the “secret shelter,” a private cabin owned by Jim Murray, who lets hikers stay or rest there.

20120611-155605.jpg

At the end of the day I passed through the Wallkill River National Wildlife Reserve, which was home to hundreds of birds.

20120611-203107.jpg

My last day in New Jersey started with another boardwalk over swampland.

I then stopped at a farm near the trail for some fresh fruit and a muffin. It’s amazing how quickly I’m passing through the states now!

2 thoughts on “New Jersey

  1. Hi Luke,
    We were getting worried about you, since we hadn’t heard in a while from you. Glad to hear that all is well and you are in New Jersey!! Love the many videos and all the little creatures. God bless you, dear Luke!! love and prayers, George and Roberta

Leave a comment